Home Page

Year 2

Year Two


Please see the daily timetable below for our Year Two children.




At Westwood, our children are taught using the Talk for Writing scheme. Talk for Writing, is powerful because it is based on the principles of how people learn. The movement from imitation to innovation to independent application can be adapted to suit the needs of learners of any stage.


Talk for Writing has had an outstanding impact on schools, both ours and others. Typically, schools have found that children initially double their rate of progress and, where the approach has been applied systematically across a setting, many schools have moved from dire results to outstanding success. Schools already performing well have not only increased attainment, but also enjoyment and engagement.


Throughout the school year, we will look at a variety of books covering a multitude of genres, ensuring that our children are exposed to the widest possible range of books.


For more information on Talk for Writing, you can visit their website here.





At Westwood, we follow the 'White Rose' scheme of work. White Rose maths promotes a love of mathematics through a variety of activities during lessons time. Alongside the more 'traditional' sums and calculations, we challenge students using visual and verbal reasoning questions to help them answer not only 'what?', but 'why?'.


We also like to challenge the children with 'physical' maths problems both inside and outside the classroom. For example hiding numbers around the playground and challenging children to find and retrieve only odd numbers, or giving each child a number and asking them to arrange themselves into different orders or groups.


We find that through these fun and interactive lessons, key information is retained easier.



As the children move through Year two, children will move through phases 4, 5 and 6.

The children continue to work in small group teaching sessions, individual activities, small group games and interactive games on the board. We continue to follow Letters and Sounds as a scheme for teaching Phonics.

The children's reading books are linked to their understanding of Phonics and should provide an opportunity to identify and read sounds they have learnt.


The order of teaching phonics is -


Phase 4

In Phase 4 phonics, children will, among other things: Practise reading and spelling CVCC words ('bump', 'nest', 'belt,' 'milk', etc) Practise reading and spelling high frequency words. Practise reading and writing sentences.


Phase 5

In Phase 5 children are introduced to new graphemes for reading. Some of these graphemes represent phonemes (sounds) that they have already learnt a grapheme for. For example, in Phase 3 children were taught 'ai' as the grapheme for the phoneme /a/ (as in rain). In Phase 5, children are taught that the phoneme /a/ can also be represented by the graphemes 'ay' (as in play) or 'a-e' (as in make). 


Phase 6

At the start of Phase Six of Letters and Sounds, children will have already learnt the most frequently occurring grapheme–phoneme correspondences (GPCs) in the English language. They will be able to read many familiar words automatically. When they come across unfamiliar words they will in many cases be able to decode them quickly and quietly using their well-developed sounding and blending skills. With more complex unfamiliar words they will often be able to decode them by sounding them out.


At this stage children should be able to spell words phonemically although not always correctly. In Phase Six the main aim is for children to become more fluent readers and more accurate spellers.